Institutional Support

108 Who at my institution can answer questions about open textbooks and open education?

For information on who to contact at your institution about open textbooks and open education, select your institution from the list below.

Acsenda School of Management

For assistance, please contact:

Ali de Haan, Manager, Library and Instructor Services
Email: ali.dehaan@Acsenda.com

British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT)

For assistance, please contact:

Rosario Passos, Instructional Development Consultant
Learning and Teaching Centre
Email: Rosario_Passos@bcit.ca
Phone: 604-456-1266

OR

Lin Brander, Open Education Librarian
Email: Lin_Brander@bcit.ca
Phone: 604-432-8922

Camosun College

For assistance, please contact:

Sue Doner, Faculty/Instructional Designer/eLearning Development & Support
Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Email: DonerS@camosun.bc.ca
Phone: 250-370-3939

OR

Sybil Harrison,
Email: HarrisonS@camosun.bc.ca

Capilano University

For assistance with the library aspect of open educational resources and textbooks, please contact:

Sabrina Wong, Scholarly Communications and Copyright Librarian
Email: sabrinawong2@capilanou.ca
Phone: 604-986-1911, ext 2103

OR

Michel Castagne, Digital Services Librarian
Email: michelcastagne@capilanou.ca
Phone: 604-986-1911, ext 2143

For all other questions regarding open textbooks, OER, and open education, contact:

Laura MacKay, Director, Centre for Teaching Excellence
Email: lmackay@capilanou.ca
Phone: 604-986-1911, ext 2476

OR

Alyssa Hamer, Open Education Coordinator
Email: alyssahamer@capilanou.ca
Phone: 604-990-7831

Coast Mountain College

For assistance, please contact:

Email: colt@coastmountaincollege.ca
Centre of Learning Transformation (COLT)

College of New Caledonia (CNC)

For assistance, please contact:

Grace Dyck, Education Technology/Instructional Skills Coordinator
Centre for Teaching & Learning
Email: dyckg@cnc.bc.ca
Phone: 250-562-2131 local 5550

OR

Paula Hayden, Director for Teaching and Learning
Email: haydenp1@cnc.bc.ca

College of the Rockies (CotR)

For assistance, please contact:

Scott Gerrity, Instructional Specialist,
Education Technology Centre
Email: sgerrity@cotr.bc.ca
Phone: 250-489-2751 local 3289

OR

COTROnline Moodle Help Desk
Email: cotronline@cotr.bc.ca
Phone: 250-489-2751 local 3737

Douglas College

For assistance, please contact:

Debra Flewelling, Open Education & Emerging Technologies Librarian
Email: flewellingd@douglascollege.ca
Phone: 604-527-5190

Emily Carr University of Art + Design (ECUAD)

For assistance, please contact:

Email: tlc@ecuad.ca
Phone: 604-630-4554

Justice Institute of British Columbia (JIBC)

For assistance, please contact:

Dave Smulders, Program Manager, Faculty Development/Instructional Design,
Centre for Teaching, Learning, and Innovation
Email: dsmulders@jibc.ca

OR

Centre for Teaching, Learning, and Innovation
Email: ctli@jibc.ca

Help is also available through the JIBC Library:

Christine-Louise Dujmovich, Librarian, Reference and Electronic Resources
Email: cdujmovich@jibc.ca

Kwantlen Polytechnic University (KPU)

For assistance, please contact:

Urooj Nizami
Open Education Strategist
Email: urooj.nizami@kpu.ca

OR

open@kpu.ca

Langara College

For assistance, please contact:

Lindsay Tripp, Copyright and Open Education Librarian
Email: ltripp@langara.ca

OR

open@langara.ca

Nicola Valley Institute of Technology (NVIT)

For assistance, please contact:

Rita Cavaliere, Librarian
Email: rcavaliere@nvit.bc.ca
Phone: 250-378-3303

North Island College (NIC)

For assistance, please contact:

Terri Bateman, Distributed Learning Facilitator
Email: Terri.Bateman@nic.bc.ca
Phone: 250-334-5000 ext. 5235

OR

Liesel Knaack, Director, Teaching & Learning Innovation
Email: Liesel.Knaack@nic.bc.ca
Phone: 250.334.5032

Northern Lights College (NLC)

Shari Harrison, MEd
Coordinator, Centre for Excellence in Teaching & Learning
Email: sharriso@nlc.bc.ca
Phone: 250-374-2175

Okanagan College

For assistance, please contact:

Greg Hutton, Collections & Cataloguing Librarian
Email: ghutton@okanagan.bc.ca
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext 4490

Royal Roads University (RRU)

For assistance, please contact:

Sophia Palahicky, Associate Director
Centre for Teaching & Educational Technologies
Email: Sophia.Palahicky@royalroads.ca
Phone: 250-391-2600 ext 4766

OR

Rosie Croft, University Librarian
Email: Rosie.Croft@royalroads.ca
Phone: 250-391-2699

Selkirk College

For assistance, please contact:

Ken Laing, Instructional Services and Digital Initiatives Librarian
Email: klaing@selkirk.ca
Phone: 250-365-7292, ext 21382

Simon Fraser University (SFU)

For assistance, please contact:

Hope Power, Teaching & Learning Librarian
Email: hpower@sfu.ca
Phone: 778-782-4359

Thompson Rivers University (TRU)

For assistance with adopting, adapting, or creating an open textbook, contact:

Brenda Smith
Email: brsmith@tru.ca
Phone: 250-828-5098

For assistance with Pressbooks, contact:

Ken Monroe
Email: kmonroe@tru.ca
Phone: 778-471-8440

Trinity Western University (TWU)

For assistance, please contact:

Colin Madland
Online Learning and Instructional Technologies
Email: colin.madland@twu.ca
Phone: 604-513-2121 ext 3876

OR

Qinqin Zhang
Assistant Librarian, Information Literacy, E-Learning & E-Resources
Email: qinqin.zhang@twu.ca
Phone: 604-513-2121 ext 3904

University Canada West

For assistance, please contact:

Christopher Reimer, Liaison Librarian
Email: Christopher.Reimer@ucanwest.ca

University of British Columbia, Okanagan campus (UBCO)

For assistance, please contact:

Donna Langille, Community Engagement Librarian
Email: donna.langille@ubc.ca
Phone: 250 807-9233

OR

Michelle Lamberson, Director, Flexible Learning
Email: michelle.lamberson@ubc.ca
Phone: 250-807-9029

University of British Columbia, Vancouver campus (UBCV)

For assistance, please contact:

Will Engle, Strategist, Open Education Initiatives
Centre for Teaching, Learning & Technology
Email: will.engle@ubc.ca
Phone: 604-822-5913

OR

Erin Fields, Open Education and Scholarly Communications Librarian
Email: erin.fields@ubc.ca
Phone: 604-822-0977

For more information, visit: http://open.ubc.ca/

University of the Fraser Valley (UFV)

For assistance, please contact:

Martin Warkentin, Copyright Librarian
Email: Martin.Warkentin@ufv.ca
Phone: 604-504-7441, ext 4460

Claire Hay, Teaching & Learning Specialist
Email: Claire.Hay@ufv.ca

University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC)

For assistance, please contact:

Grant Potter, Sr Lab Instructor, E-Learning
Centre for Teaching, Learning, and Technology
Email: grant.potter@unbc.ca
Phone: 250-960-5188

University of Victoria (UVic)

For assistance, please contact:

Inba Kehoe, Copyright Officer/Scholarly Communications Librarian
Email: ikehoe@uvic.ca

Vancouver Community College (VCC)

For assistance, please contact:

Elena Kuzmina, Coordinator, Collections, e-Resources and OER
Email: ekuzmina@vcc.ca
Phone: 604-871-7000, ext 8346

Vancouver Island University (VIU)

For assistance, please contact:

Dana McFarland, Librarian & Coordinator for
eResources & Scholarly Communication
Email: Dana.McFarland@viu.ca

OR

Maxwell Stevenson, Director
Centre for Innovation and Excellence in Learning
Email: Maxwell.Stevenson@viu.ca

License

Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Answer Guide by BCcampus is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book