Institutional Support

88 Who at my institution can answer questions about open textbooks and open education?

For information on who to contact at your institution about open textbooks and open education, select your institution from the list below.

British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT)

For assistance, please contact:

Rosario Passos, Instructional Development Consultant
Learning and Teaching Centre
Email: Rosario_Passos@bcit.ca
Phone: 604-456-1266

OR

Lin Brander, Reference Librarian
Business Research and International Programs
Email: Lin_Brander@bcit.ca
Phone: 604-432-8922

Camosun College

For assistance, please contact:

Sue Doner, Faculty/Instructional Designer/eLearning Development & Support
Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Email: DonerS@camosun.bc.ca
Phone: 250-370-3939

OR

Sybil Harrison,
Email: HarrisonS@camosun.bc.ca

Capilano University

For assistance with the library aspect of open educational resources and textbooks, please contact:

Michel Castagne, Digital Services Librarian
Email: michelcastagne@capilanou.ca
Phone: 604-986-1911, ext 2143

For all other questions regarding open textbooks, OER, and open education, contact:

Laura MacKay, Manager, Centre for Teaching Excellence
Email: lmackay@capilanou.ca
Phone: 604-986-1911, ext 2476

Coast Mountain College

For assistance, please contact:

Email: colt@coastmountaincollege.ca
Centre of Learning Transformation (COLT)

College of New Caledonia (CNC)

For assistance, please contact:

Grace Dyck, Education Technology/Instructional Skills Coordinator
Centre for Teaching & Learning
Email: dyckg@cnc.bc.ca
Phone: 250-562-2131 local 5550

College of the Rockies (CotR)

For assistance, please contact:

COTROnline Moodle Help Desk
Email: cotronline@cotr.bc.ca
Phone: 250-489-2751 local 3737

Douglas College

For assistance, please contact:

Debra Flewelling, Open Education & Emerging Technologies Librarian
Email: flewellingd@douglascollege.ca
Phone: 604-527-5190

Emily Carr University of Art + Design (ECUAD)

For assistance, please contact:

Email: tlc@ecuad.ca
Phone: 604-630-4554

Justice Institute of British Columbia (JIBC)

For assistance, please contact:

Email: telt@jibc.ca

Kwantlen Polytechnic University (KPU)

For assistance, please contact:

Email: rajiv@kpu.ca or open@kpu.ca

Langara College

For assistance, please contact:

Julian Prior, Ed Tech Advisor
Email: jprior@langara.ca

OR

Lindsay Tripp, Copyright Librarian
Email: ltripp@langara.ca

North Island College (NIC)

For assistance, please contact:

Terri Bateman, Distributed Learning Facilitator
Email: Terri.Bateman@nic.bc.ca
Phone: 250-334-5000 ext. 5235

Okanagan College

For assistance, please contact:

Ross McKerlich, Education Technology Coordinator
Email: rmckerlich@okanagan.bc.ca
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext 4921

OR

Ross Tyner, Director of Library Services
Email: rhtyner@okanagan.bc.ca
Phone: 250-762-5445 ext 4665

Royal Roads University (RRU)

For assistance, please contact:

Sophia Palahicky, Associate Director
Centre for Teaching & Educational Technologies
Email: Sophia.Palahicky@royalroads.ca
Phone: 250-391-2600 ext 4766

OR

Rosie Croft, University Librarian
Email: Rosie.Croft@royalroads.ca
Phone: 250-391-2699

Simon Fraser University (SFU)

For assistance, please contact:

Hope Power, Teaching & Learning Librarian
Email: hpower@sfu.ca
Phone: 778-782-4359

Thompson Rivers University (TRU)

For assistance with adopting, adapting, or creating an open textbook, contact:

Brenda Smith
Email: brsmith@tru.ca
Phone: 250-828-5098

For assistance with Pressbooks, contact:

Ken Monroe
Email: kmonroe@tru.ca
Phone: 778-471-8440

Trinity Western University (TWU)

For assistance, please contact:

Colin Madland
Online Learning and Instructional Technologies
Email: colin.madland@twu.ca
Phone: 604-513-2121 ext 3876

University of British Columbia, Okanagan campus (UBCO)

For assistance, please contact:

Michelle Lamberson, Director, Flexible Learning
Email: michelle.lamberson@ubc.ca
Phone: 250-807-9029

University of British Columbia, Vancouver campus (UBC)

For assistance, please contact:

Will Engle, Strategist, Open Education Initiatives
Centre for Teaching, Learning & Technology
Email: will.engle@ubc.ca
Phone: 604-822-5913

For more information, visit: http://open.ubc.ca/

University of the Fraser Valley (UFV)

For assistance, please contact:

Martin Warkentin, Copyright Librarian
Email: Martin.Warkentin@ufv.ca
Phone: 604-504-7441, ext 4460

University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC)

For assistance, please contact:

Grant Potter, Sr Lab Instructor, E-Learning
Centre for Teaching, Learning, and Technology
Email: grant.potter@unbc.ca
Phone: 250-960-5188

OR

Heather Empey, Acting Co-University Librarian
Email: heather.empey@unbc.ca
Phone: 250-960-6468

University of Victoria (UVic)

For assistance, please contact:

Inba Kehoe, Copyright Officer/Scholarly Communications Librarian
Email: ikehoe@uvic.ca

Vancouver Community College (VCC)

For assistance, please contact:

Elena Kuzmina, Coordinator, Collections, e-Resources and OER
Email: ekuzmina@vcc.ca
Phone: 604-871-7000, ext 8346

Vancouver Island University (VIU)

For assistance, please contact:

Maxwell Stevenson, Acting Director
Centre for Innovation and Excellence in Learning
Email: Maxwell.Stevenson@viu.ca