List of Links by Chapter for Print Users

This page contains a list of links to external resources referenced in this book for people who are using a print version. Links are listed by the chapters in which they appear and are listed alphabetically. Internal links are not included in this list.

Accessibility Statement

  • Contact us (https://open.bccampus.ca/contact-us/)
  • Download this book in another file format (https://opentextbc.ca/ingredients/)
  • Report an Open Textbook Error (https://open.bccampus.ca/use-open-textbooks/reporting-an-open-textbook-error/)
  • Web version of Understanding Ingredients for Canadian Baker (https://opentextbc.ca/ingredients/)

About BCcampus Open Education

  • Adoption of an Open Textbook (https://open.bccampus.ca/use-open-textbooks/tell-us-youre-using-an-open-textbook/)
  • BCcampus Open Education (https://open.bccampus.ca/)
  • British Columbia Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills & Training (https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/governments/organizational-structure/ministries-organizations/ministries/advanced-education-skills-training)
  • Creative Commons licence (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/)
  • Hewlett Foundation (http://www.hewlett.org/programs/education/open-educational-resources)

Grains and Flours

  • Agricultural Growth Act (http://foodsecurecanada.org/resources-news/news-media/bill-c-18-agricultural-growth-act)
  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (http://www.agr.gc.ca/eng/home/?id=1395690825741)
  • American Institute of Baking (http://www.aibonline.org/aibOnline/en/)
  • Anita’s Organic Mill (http://anitasorganic.com/)
  • Canada Grain Act (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/legislation-legislation/act-loi/cga-lgc-eng.htm)
  • Canada Grain Regulations – Section 5 (https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/C.R.C.,_c._889/page-1.html#h-6)
  • Canadian Grain Commission (https://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/en/)
  • Chapter 17 of the Grain Grading Guide (https://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/en/grain-quality/official-grain-grading-guide/17-corn/grading.html)
  • Chapter 7 of the Grain Grading Guide (https://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/en/grain-quality/official-grain-grading-guide/07-oats/grading.html)
  • Characteristics and end uses of Eastern and Western wheat (http://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/wheat-ble/classes/classes-eng.htm)
  • Daybreak Mill (http://www.daybreakmill.com/about-daybreak)
  • Fieldstone Organics (http://fieldstoneorganics.ca/contact/index.php)
  • G3 Canada (http://www.g3.ca/)
  • Grain Grading Guide (https://www.grainscanada.gc.ca/oggg-gocg/ggg-gcg-eng.htm)
  • Health Products and Food Branch of Health Canada (https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/corporate/about-health-canada/branches-agencies/health-products-food-branch.html)
  • Information about whole grains (https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/canada-food-guide/resources/healthy-eating-recommendations/eat-a-variety/whole-grain/get-facts.html)
  • National Farmers Union (http://www.nfu.ca/about/about-national-farmers-union)
  • Nunweiler’s (http://www.nunweilersflour.com/about)
  • Nutrition and Labelling for the Canadian Baker (http://opentextbc.ca/nutrition/)
  • Quality of Western Canadian Wheat [PDF] (https://grainscanada.gc.ca/en/grain-research/export-quality/cereals/wheat/western/2012/2012-quality-report.pdf)
  • True Grain (http://www.truegrain.ca/index.php/true-grain-mill2-2/our-grains)
  • Urban Grains (http://www.urbangrains.ca/about)

Sweeteners in Baking

  • Food and Drug Regulations (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/c.r.c.,_c._870/index.html)
  • Food and Drugs Act (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/f-27/)
  • Health Canada webpage Sugar Substitutes (http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/securit/addit/sweeten-edulcor/index-eng.php)
  • Information on sugar substitutes and their relative sweetness (http://www.sugar-and-sweetener-guide.com/sweetener-values.html)
  • Nutrition and Labelling for the Canadian Baker (http://opentextbc.ca/nutrition/)
  • The Faces of Business: Mapleside Sugar Bush (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFIj4pMYpTQ)

Fats and Oils

  • Canada’s Food Guide (http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/food-guide-aliment/index-eng.php)
  • Cancer (http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/cd-mc/cancer/index-eng.php)
  • Heart disease (https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/diseases/heart-health/heart-diseases-conditions/about-heart-diseases-conditions.html)
  • Hydrogenated vegetable oil (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrogenated_vegetable_oil)
  • Link between trans fats and adverse health effects (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trans_fat#Health_risks)
  • Monoglycerides (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monoglyceride)
  • Nutrition and Labelling for the Canadian Baker (http://opentextbc.ca/nutrition/)
  • Obesity (http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hl-vs/iyh-vsv/life-vie/obes-eng.php)
  • Palm oil (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palm_oil)
  • Smoke point (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smoke_point)
  • Type 2 diabetes (http://healthycanadians.gc.ca/health-sante/disease-maladie/diabete-eng.php)

Eggs

  • Egg Regulations (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/C.R.C.,_c._284/page-1.html)

Dairy Products

  • Canadian Food Inspection Agency web page about HHST processing (http://www.inspection.gc.ca/food/requirements/preventive-controls-food-businesses/dairy-products/hhst-esl/eng/1539632249860/1539711207517#a3)
  • Cream with 5% to 6% fat (http://www.dairygoodness.ca/cream/types-of-cream/5-or-6-light-cream-or-cream-and-milk-blend-for-coffee)
  • Recipe that calls for country cream (http://bcdairy.ca/milk/recipes/cream-of-squash-soup)

Chocolate and other Cocoa Products

  • Canadian Food Inspection Agency (http://www.inspection.gc.ca/eng/1297964599443/1297965645317)
  • Food and Drugs Act (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_Drugs_Act)
  • Video on the chemistry of chocolate (http://science360.gov/obj/video/27d931d9-c33c-45c6-adac-aa0a42f04ad6/chemistry-chocolate)

Fruit

  • BC Farm Fresh (http://www.bcfarmfresh.com)
  • BC Tree Fruits (http://www.bctree.com)

License

Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

List of Links by Chapter for Print Users by The BC Cook Articulation Committee is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book