Appendix B: List of Links by Chapter for Print Users

This page contains a list of links to external resources referenced in this book for people who are using a print version. Links are listed by the parts and chapters in which they appear and are listed alphabetically. Internal links are not included in this list.

About This Guide

  • BCcampus (https://bccampus.ca/about-us/)
  • BCcampus contact form (https://bccampus.mycusthelp.ca/webapp/_rs/(S(zgunlrqmver05opacgq1g4dv))/RequestOpenCI.aspx?sSessionID=2410818182CLRZYQSSDKYJGLMWGGJMPUGZGHOQGQ&rqst=1)
  • BCcampus Open Education (http://open.bccampus.ca/)
  • BCcampus Open Education Style Guide (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/back-matter/appendix-2/)
  • BCcampus Writing Guidelines for Style and Tone (https://bccampus.ca/bccampus-editorial-guidelines-for-tone-voice-and-style/)
  • British Columbia Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills & Training (https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/governments/organizational-structure/ministries-organizations/ministries/advanced-education-skills-training)
  • Hewlett Foundation (http://www.hewlett.org/)
  • Report a Textbook Error form (https://open.bccampus.ca/reporting-an-open-textbook-error/)
  • Self-Publishing Guide (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/)

Introduction

  • Customizing your Exports with Custom Styles (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/customizing-your-exports-with-custom-styles/)
  • Pressbooks Feedback (https://open.bccampus.ca/pressbooks-feedback/)
  • Pressbooks Userguide (https://opentextbc.ca/pressbooks/)
  • Textbook Outline (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/chapter/textbook-outline/)
  • WordPress (https://wordpress.org/)
  • Writing Directly in Pressbooks (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/writing-directly-in-pressbooks/)

Accessibility Statement

  • Accessibility Toolkit – 2nd Edition (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/)
  • Appendix A: Checklist for Accessibility (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/back-matter/appendix-checklist-for-accessibility-toolkit/)
  • Pressbooks Guide (https://opentextbc.ca/pressbooks/)
  • Report an Open Textbook Error (https://open.bccampus.ca/reporting-an-open-textbook-error/)
  • Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (https://www.w3.org/TR/WCAG20/)

Pressbooks for B.C. and the Yukon

  • BCcampus Helpdesk (https://open.bccampus.ca/help/)
  • eCampusOntario (https://openlibrary.ecampusontario.ca/)
  • Pressbooks (https://pressbooks.com/)
  • Rebus Community (https://forum.rebus.community/)
  • Rebus Community Press – Request for Access (https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdFcPA4NLOkQS1ax0uMnIFySJCRWGwd7o06SOiHSpJkh130BQ/viewform?c=0&w=1)
  • Self-serve instance of Pressbooks

Pressbooks Accounts

  • Pressbooks home page (https://pressbooks.bccampus.ca/)
  • User Profile (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/user-profile/)

Passwords and Usernames

  • Changing Your Password (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/changing-your-password/)
  • Login page for Pressbooks (https://pressbooks.bccampus.ca/wp-login.php)

Provide Access to Others

  • Users and Collaborators (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/users/)

Book Set Up

  • What is in a Book? (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/what-is-in-a-book-to-come/)

Accessibility

  • Accessibility, Diversity, and Inclusion (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/chapter/accessibility-and-inclusion/)
  • Accessibility Toolkit – 2nd Edition (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/)
  • Checklist for Accessibility (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/back-matter/appendix-checklist-for-accessibility-toolkit/)
  • Colour  Contrast (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/chapter/colour-contrast/)
  • Formulas (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/chapter/formulas/)
  • Images (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/chapter/images/)
  • Links (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/chapter/links/)
  • Multimedia (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/chapter/multimedia/)
  • Tables (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/chapter/tables/)

Language and Script Support

  • Languages (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/languages/)

Annotation with Hypothes.is

  • Hypothes.is (https://web.hypothes.is/)
  • Hypothesis for Webbook Annotation and Comments (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/hypothesis-for-webbook-annotation-comments/)

Comments

  • Comments and Review (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/commentsandreview/)

The Dashboard

  • Appearance (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/appearance/)
  • Book Info (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/book-info-to-come/)
  • Collapsible Subsections for Webbook (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/collapsible-subsections-for-webbook/)
  • Customizing Your Exports with Custom Styles (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/customizing-your-exports-with-custom-styles/)
  • Enabling and Using Lightboxes for Images (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/enabling-and-using-lightboxes-for-images/)
  • Hypothes.is browser plugin (https://web.hypothes.is/)
  • Image Editing (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/image-editing/)
  • Media (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/media-images/)
  • My Catalog (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/my-catalog/)
  • New Theme Options (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/new-theme-options/)
  • Privacy Settings: Making Parts of Book Private (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/privacy-settings-making-some-of-my-book-invisible-to-the-world/)
  • Search and Replace (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/search-and-replace/)
  • Themes for Academic and Educational Text (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/educationalbookthemes/)
  • Theme Lock (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/theme-lock/)
  • Typography: Hyphens (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/typography/)

Add a New Book

  • Automatic Pages: Title Page, Copyright and Table of Contents (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/automatic-pages/)
  • Table of Contents: Adding a Second Level (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/table-of-contents-adding-a-second-level/)

Parts: Add, Change, Organize

  • Parts (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/parts/)

Chapters: Add, Change, Organize

  • Chapters (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/chapters/)
  • Textbook Outline (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/chapter/textbook-outline/)

Front Matter: Add, Change, Organize

  • Front Matter (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/front-matter/)
  • Textbook Outline (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/chapter/textbook-outline/)

Back Matter: Add, Change, Organize

  • Back Matter (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/back-matter/)
  • Textbook Outline (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/chapter/textbook-outline/)

Automatic Pages and Features

  • “Automatic” Pages: Title Page and Table of Contents (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/automatic-pages/)
  • Copyright Page (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/copyright-page/)
  • Creative Commons Licensing (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/cclicenses/)
  • Appearance (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/appearance/)

Create New Account

  • The Importance of “Good Markup” (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/the-importance-of-good-markup/)
  • Using the Visual and Text Editors in Pressbooks (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/use-visual-text-editor-pressbooks/)
  • Writing Directly in Pressbooks (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/writing-directly-in-pressbooks/)

Clone a Book

  • Book Cloning (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/book-cloning097/)
  • Source Comparison for Cloned Books(https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/source-comparison-for-cloned-books/)

Import a Word Document

  • Import from Word (docx) (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/import-from-word-docx/)

Copy and Paste from Word

  • Copy Paste: Tried and True (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/copy-paste-tried-and-true/)

Import a Google Doc

  • Google Docs (https://www.google.com/docs/about/)

Import an OpenDocument Text (ODT) File

  • Differences between the OpenDocument Text (.odt) format and the Word (.docx) format (https://support.office.com/en-us/article/differences-between-the-opendocument-text-odt-format-and-the-word-docx-format-d9d51a92-56d1-4794-8b68-5efb57aebfdc?ocmsassetID=HA010355788&CorrelationId=b9d3f736-a64c-49c4-a226-bd9f77f3d9ff&ui=en-US&rs=en-US&ad=US)
  • Frequently asked questions (http://opendocument.xml.org/faq-forum)
  • OpenDocument Format for Office Applications (ODF) (http://opendocumentformat.org/)

Hyperlink Material

  • Adding Hyperlinks, Internal and External (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/adding-hyperlinks-internal-and-external/)
  • Navigation and Internal Links (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/navigationandinternallinks/)

Blockquotes and Pullquotes

  • Adding Pullquotes (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/adding-pullquotes/)

Lists: Bulleted and Numbered

  • Formatting Ordered Lists (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/formatting-ordered-lists/)

Tables

  • Customizing your Exports with Custom Styles (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/customizing-your-exports-with-custom-styles/)
  • Tables and Textboxes (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/special-formatting/)

Textboxes

  • Tables and Textboxes (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/special-formatting/)

Images and Files

  • Adding Images (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/adding-images/)
  • Enabling and Using Lightboxes for Images (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/enabling-and-using-lightboxes-for-images/)
  • Image Editing (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/image-editing/)
  • Media: Images and Best Practices (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/media-images/)
  • Media attributions (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/media-attributions/)
  • Resources: Captions and Attributions (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/chapter/resources-captions-attributions/)
  • Section Breaks, Page Breaks and Blank Pages (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/section-breaks-page-breaks-and-blank-pages/)

Videos, Audio, and Interactive Media

  • Creative Commons licence (https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/2797468)
  • Embedded Media and Interactive Content (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/embedded-media-interactive-content/)
  • How to Change the License of Your YouTube Video to Creative Commons (https://www.wikihow.com/Change-the-License-of-Your-YouTube-Video-to-Creative-Commons)
  • How to Upload a Video to YouTube (https://www.wikihow.com/Upload-a-Video-to-YouTube)
  • Media attributions (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/media-attributions/)
  • Provide web addresses for print users (https://opentextbc.ca/accessibilitytoolkit/chapter/links/)

Footnotes and Endnotes

  • Footnotes and (Chapter) Endnote (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/footnotes-and-chapter-endnotes/)

LaTeX for Formulas

  • Equations and Formulas: How to Use LaTeX (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/equations-and-formulas/)
  • LaTex for WordPress (https://wordpress.org/plugins/latex/)
  • The LaTeX Project (https://www.latex-project.org/)

H5P for Interactive Material

  • H5P Interactive Content (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/h5p/)
  • H5P website (https://h5p.org/)

WP Quick LaTeX

  • Equations and Formulas: How to Use LaTeX (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/equations-and-formulas/)

Delete a Chapter

  • Chapters (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/chapters/)

Delete a Part

  • Parts (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/parts/)

Prepare for Publication

  • Pre-publication (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/part/pre-publication/)

Book Cover

  • Book Covers for Ebooks and Print-on-Demand (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/how-to-design-your-book-cover/)

Book Info Page

  • Book Info (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/book-info-to-come/)

Export Files

  • Export (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/export/)
  • PDF Export and Options (https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/pdf-export-options/)

Statistics

  • Track Adoptions (https://opentextbc.ca/selfpublishguide/chapter/track-adoptions/)

Book Statistics Inside Pressbooks

  • Announcement blog (https://matomo.org/blog/2018/01/piwik-is-now-matomo/)
  • Matomo Glossary (https://glossary.matomo.org/)

Statistics for Books in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection

  • B.C. Open Textbook Collection (https://open.bccampus.ca/find-open-textbooks/)
  • Open Textbook Stats (https://open.bccampus.ca/open-textbook-stats/)

Statistics for BCcampus Publications

  • Open Textbook Stats (https://open.bccampus.ca/open-textbook-stats/)

Pressbooks Updates

  • Pressbooks Updates (https://open.bccampus.ca/pressbooks-updates/)

Pressbooks Tutorial Videos

  • Pressbooks Tutorial videos (https://video.bccampus.ca/channel/Pressbooks%2BTutorials/66388)

Webinar Recordings

  • Pressbooks Intermediate 1 webinar (https://us.bbcollab.com/collab/ui/session/playback/load/5a8d1429e252483a8ec46ebdbfa13c5f)
  • Pressbooks Intermediate 2 webinar (https://us.bbcollab.com/collab/ui/session/playback/load/1a9e584ea6e04f68bb1c5f486a4fc0e3)
  • Pressbooks Intermediate 3 webinar (https://us.bbcollab.com/recording/3fe2a3d9846c4f45b36451e8f7504b35)
  • Pressbooks Intermediate 4 webinar (https://us.bbcollab.com/collab/ui/session/playback)
  • Pressbooks Introduction webinar (https://us.bbcollab.com/collab/ui/session/playback/load/1cb901d8c3fb42cebd882cd224b5c67e)

Pressbooks FAQ

  • Frequently Asked Questions (https://bccampus.mycusthelp.ca/webapp/_rs/FindAnswers.aspx?coid=46EB0A49176C)

Pressbooks Feedback

  • Pressbooks Feedback (https://open.bccampus.ca/pressbooks-updates/)
  • Self-serve instance of Pressbooks (https://pressbooks.bccampus.ca/)

Appendix A: Administrators, Developers, Technical Support

  • GitHub for Pressbooks (https://github.com/pressbooks)
  • Pressbooks Discourse (https://discourse.pressbooks.org/)
  • The Pressbooks Network Manager’s Guide (https://networkmanagerguide.pressbooks.com/)

Versioning History

  • Report an Open Textbook Error (https://open.bccampus.ca/reporting-an-open-textbook-error/)

License

Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Appendix B: List of Links by Chapter for Print Users by Lauri M. Aesoph is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book